IKEA Rast DIY office

When we moved into our house we always had plans of making the third bedroom an office since I work remote 100%. I was especially excited to have all of my craft supplies in one organized place.

When Covid hit, I thought what better time to start a DIY project to keep me occupied for all of quarantine. While this project did take some time to finish, I clearly had no idea how long this lockdown would go on for.

I bought the Rask cabinets from IKEA and searched Pinterest high and low for a pattern inspiration as well as a color pallet I loved. I wanted to go with some color, since I am notorious for a neutral color pallet, but also I have hopes and dreams that this office will one day become a nursery and wanted something fun and whimsical as well as gender neutral.

I started with paint. Two coats of primer because the raw pine soaks up a lot of paint and I wanted to be sure to create a good base so the colors stayed true and not washed out. It’s also cheaper to prime rather than use up all of your good colorful paint with multiple layers. Priming adds extra time to paint and let it dry, but its worth it. After priming I laid the cabinet fronts down on the floor and penciled out my design and planned for color blocking. I decided not to tape out the shapes because it’s an organic pattern.

After painting the fronts and I painted the actual cabinets a solid color to not make it too busy. For a fun pop of color I also painted the inside the bright yellow.

Then then fun begins, I had planned to mount them on the wall just above the baseboard to create a floating effect. We ordered brackets and special drill bits and tools. Well, my skills with the drill are in need of improvement and I miss aligned the holes in the studs, thus compromising the structural integrity of the brackets and now a no go for mounting the cabinet. COOL.

After a short panic/meltdown I pivoted and found sleek modern legs and pulls from Pretty Pegs to salvage this project. This company actually makes accessories for IKEA furniture and they are so easy to install.

Even with a few mishaps, it turned out great and is very functional for us. I styled it with a gallery wall full of color to keep it fun and playful. This set up has made for a great backdrop for my Zoom calls now.

I posted a story on Instagram (TheBusyRooster) and saved it to my highlights for more images and behind the scenes.

Thanks for following along!

Xox Mo

Leave a comment