Bedroom Vision Boarding

In this strange new reality designing and nesting looks and feels a little bit different. It’s this strange dichotomy of wanting to get everything done with this newfound time, but also not having the things to carry out those designs.

I am thankful to have scooped up some of the important things before everything shutdown like our bed and bedframe. But I had hopes of checking out antique stores and browsing all of the local galleries to find the perfect accents to bring the room to life.

So for the time being, I am dreaming up our bedroom and will hunt it all down when we are all safe and everyone is back open for business.

Bedroom design

Remember these beside tables I DIYed a while back? I still love them so much and how they bring a pop of sass to my neutral tendencies. I am wanting to pair the side tables with some vintage woodsy oil paintings that are heavy on greens, browns, and blues to bring more moody darker tones to the room. They will also compliment my special “treat yo self” pillows from Lulu and Georgia that I got just after moving in.

For bedside lighting I wanted to channel The Line Hotel that we used to live next to in DC, I love how the lights go from the floor to the ceiling and back down creating the illusion of taller and vaulted ceilings. These were a little out of my skillset – and basically impossible for me to find the parts I needed so I’m opting for some long arm lights instead from Article which are way cheaper than their West Elm cousins.

f5f834b232b4f31da3d37d2736d671ad

The Line Hotel – Washington, DC

 

Also, a bench at the foot of the bed is very necessary. But don’t let these styled images fool you, every bench, I don’t care who you are, is usually covered in either 1) clothes that are too clean for the dirty laundry but too dirty to be put away. 2) all of the throw pillows that never get properly styled when you make your bed any day you don’t have visitors or a photoshoot. Just sayin.

The other half of the room is still a little fuzzy in my mind and needs more planning. Never have we ever had so much space in the bedroom and we just graduated from cramming all of our stuff into one dresser (because that is all we have ever known) to finally getting a his and hers. Mind you, both dressers are still from Ikea so I haven’t graduated a masters program or anything – but we did replace the knobs with some gold pulls from Amazon that are way cheaper than their CB2 second cousins and actually nice quality too.

GALLO BEDROOM2

I am going to branch out of my comfort zone and play with some fun drapes to add more character to the room and create a little seating area that we can read and reflect on life… JK just another spot to throw more crap on 🙂 I am hoping to commission my mom for a hooked pillow to live on that chair so I don’t have to spend a bunch of bucks on the pictured Jungalow pillow.

Still lots of tweaking to do, maybe a little less gold and a little more black accents – but it looks like I have plenty of time to dwell on it before I spring into action.

Stay safe, sane, and creative

xox

Mo

Leave a comment